Is Obamacare REALLY the less expensive alternative? – Open letter to Congress

Image

Democrat Senators & Congressmen:

With all the talk of the Government shutdown and the debate regarding the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare), I would like to share the real life situation facing my family and me.

I work for myself, and we are blessed to allow my wife to stay at home with my three boys, though as of this year they are all in school.  As an entrepreneur, I have to pay for our health insurance, with no subsidy from “the company” because, well, I am the company.

We currently are paying roughly $270 per month for our high deductible health insurance policy through Blue Cross/Blue Shield of North Carolina.  We chose to go this route for our health insurance, for two reasons:  1) because we have a CHOICE to buy what we want, and 2) we believe insurance is just that, insurance, not a right to visit the ER when one of my boys has the sniffles, as so many people in this country do.  If those same people had to pay for health insurance out-of-pocket as I do, they would not run to the ER for every little thing, and that in turn, would bring costs down, but I digress.

That is the background, now to what is happening thanks to Obamacare.  As of today, October 1, 2013, the new rate for our family for 2014 for a comparable plan with Blue Cross/Blue Shield is $1,037.02 per month.  That is a roughly a 284% increase.  Are you kidding me?!?!?!?

It was my understanding that under Obamacare, premiums would go down.  It was my understanding this would be good for everyone.

It seems to me, the increase in my rate is to pay for everyone else who doesn’t have insurance because they don’t want it or can’t afford it or whatever.  Either way, I am helping to subsidize others.  Well, at least it is good for them.

And speaking subsidies, I actually qualify for one.  I make over $100,000 per year.  Well, President Obama will say, “Great, see the system is working.”  I say again, “Are you kidding me?”  Is the Government really going to subsidize me for health insurance?  Again, I make over $100,000 per year and qualify for a government subsidy.  What is wrong with this picture?

So as a recap:

1 – I make over $100,000 per year

2 – I actually qualify for a subsidy of roughly $345 per month

3 – I am paying roughly $270 per month for health insurance now

4 – I will be paying $1,037 per month, minus my “subsidy” to have a new bill of $691 per month

Though I don’t think shutting the Government down over Obamacare is the best thing to do, I do think shutting Obamacare down is the best thing to do.  Healthcare is not a right, it is a choice!  It is just like anything else in our free-market system; if someone wants it, fine, if not, fine again.

I am not in the minority about Obamacare.  This law makes our republic more into an everyone-is-equal society.  Guess what, we are not.  God created all men (and women) equal, what you do with those gifts are up to you.  I have worked hard to get where I am and to provide for my family, and now the Government is telling me I have to pay more for something that should be a choice, so my “extra’ payments can help pay for others.  I don’t mind helping others; we tithe to our church, we donate clothes and food and time to worthy causes…the Government and their hand-outs, whether it is 99 weeks of unemployment or government-subsidized healthcare, are not worthy causes.

If Obamacare is not good enough for government employees, including Congress, is being delayed for “certain” corporations and the labor unions are asking for an exemption, why can’t I get out of this program?

I am asking you to stand up for freedom, for choice (where else have we heard “choice”?) and for the citizens of this country to delay Obamacare for at least a year, at the very minimum, or even better, to repeal the law in its entirety.

Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss further.

Regards,

Jeff K.

Huntersville, NC

The opinions expressed in this material are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of LPL Financial.

This entry was posted in Jeffrey Karp. Bookmark the permalink.